Share |

2017-2018 TNP Board of Directors


Robert Metzger DNP, APRN, FNP-BC




Sheri Innerarity, PhD, APRN, CNS, FNP
Vice President


Peggy Ostrander DNP, APRN, FNP-C


Peggy Francis DNP, RN, FNP


Past President

Regional Representatives:


Betty Bautista DNP, APRN, FNP-BC
Region 1 - Rio Grande Valley


Region 2 - Corpus Christi/Victoria


Elizabeth Gigliotti RN, APN-C, ACNP-BC
Region 4 - Houston


Deborah Mahoney PhD, FNP-BC
Region 5-Northeast



Cindy Weston DNP, RN, CCRN, CNS-CC, FNP-BC
Region 6-Bryan/College Station


Cathy Lux DNP, RN, CPNP-PC
Region 7-Dallas/Denton




Shelagh Larson, MSN
Region 8-Arlington/Fort Worth/Wichita Falls

Anna Jessup APRN, MSN, FNP-C
Region 10-Austin

  Laurie Hudec RN, WHNP-BC
Region 11-San Antonio


                                Tanja Morgan MSN, RN, FNP-C
Region 12-Abilene/San Angelo
  Melanie Richburg DNP, FNPC
Region 14-South Plains 




Christy Blanco
AANP Liaison


Jessica Peck
AANP Liaison


Rita De Strillo
TNPF Liaison


 If you would like to reach any member of leadership, please contact admin@texasnp.org.

Board Role Responsibilities


Officers have their own unique positions on the board.

President: Oversees the direction of the organization and presides over TNP Board meetings.

Vice President:  Responsible for the TNP conference activities and will preside over the TNP Board meetings in the absence of the president.

Secretary: Records minutes of each meeting and has a vital role in the election process.

Treasurer: Oversees the financial aspects of the organization.

Each officer is to attend TNP Board meetings, write an annual report for the membership, and participate in assigned committees.


Regional Representatives:

There are 15 regional representatives on the board. Each represent the "voice" for the NPs in the area he/she resides. Duties include attending TNP Board meetings, participation on assigned committees, write articles for the newsletter and website, write an annual report for membership and communicate regularly with local NP groups.



Liaisons are board members who actively facilitate communication and a good relationship between TNP and another organization. There are currently four liaisons: American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP), Board of Nursing APN Committee (APNAC), NAPNAP and Texas Nurse Practitioners Foundation (TNPF). Each liaison is to attend TNP Board meetings, write articles for the newsletter and website and write an annual report to the membership.


TNP provides opportunities for members to serve on committees and task forces. Individuals interested in serving on a committee will need to complete a committee request form between May-July each year. Committee assignments will be made in September each year. The new committees will begin at the conclusion of the annual membership luncheon held during the fall conference. For a listing of current committee members, please click here.


Advisory Groups

TNP has developed nine Advisory Groups to be utilized as an issue bank prior to and during the Legislative Session. We are very excited to announce that TNP has developed eight Advisory Groups to assist with our policy and legislative efforts leading up to session and during session. If the need arises for additional Advisory Groups in the future, we will look to develop additional groups. For a list of the Advisory Groups, please click here. 


Election Process

TNP Board Elections are held annually. A call for nominations will go to the membership in Winter issue of TNP News. To be eligible for a board seat, a candidate must be a current regular or lifetime member of TNP, and an APRN in good standing with the Board of Nursing. Regional Representatives candidates must reside in the region they represent. Elections by the general membership occur in May and results are posted by June 1 of each year. Term of office will begin at the Annual Membership meeting at conference. For information pertaining to the 2017 board elections, click here

TNP Board Meetings

Currently the TNP Board meets three times a year to discuss the latest issues involving the organization, NP practice and legislation. The location of these meetings are in Austin, and the city where the TNP Conference is held. All meetings are open to the public. We ask that if you do plan to attend that you give the TNP office two weeks notice (emily@texasnp.org).


TNP Past Presidents

1989-1992 Lisa Campbell
1992-1996 Patricia Goller
1996-1998 Elaine Ballard
1998-2000 Ed Gruber
2000-2002 Barbara Tucker
2002-2004 Pamela Stewart
2004-2006 Rosie Morales
2006-2008 Diane Klutz
2008-2010 Alison Mitchell
2010-2013 Sandy McCoy

2013-2015 Michael Hazel

2015-2017 Jan Zdanuk



Contact Us

Texas Nurse Practitioners
4425 S. Mopac, Building III
Suite 405 Austin, TX 78735
P: 512.291.6224
F: 512.291.6225

Our Mission

The voice of Texas Nurse Practitioners dedicated to improving patient access to quality health care.